May 2015 – Broken Bone

Monday, 1st May 2015
Stedmark (Stedmak?) Gardens
Gio was not overly keen on the slide, until his sister took him up the steps, through a tunnel and down the slide. Then he loved it!

He went back over and over again, sliding in a manner that his mother probably would not have approved of, but he was here with Daddy.

Tuesday, 5th May
Gio ran towards the teacher today when my wife dropped him at school.
My wife called me and said she had found the class being taught numbers.
So that is where Gio has been learning all this.

Gio was crying.
My wife said it was because he had wanted to go to our neighbour C’s house.
That is what the nanny had said.
He went on crying on and off as he was fed his supper.
My wife said she thinks he is imitating C.
Then my wife noticed that he was crying (more) when she touched his left arm.
She asked the nanny if Gio had fallen while they were outside.
She said No.
Had he been out of her sight?
No.
Gio was now holding his left arm with his right hand.
My wife said we take him to hospital for an x-ray.
Indeed he had a fracture. Needs a cast.
The nanny eventually admitted that Gio had gone out of her sight for a while.

IMG_9600

06th May

20150506_181755

Undated: The headmistress, upon seeing Gio in a cast and his mother limping, said I should be cautious…

Gio didn’t seem too bothered by the cast. He was generally as active as usual. The main problem for us was his options for clothes reduced due to the bulk of the cast. In fact, we cut one of the sleeves of one of his clothes.

The other problem was keeping the cast dry.

12th May
We took Gio for cast replacement at the same hospital where his mother had had surgery.

20150512_114027

20150512_124448

20150512_125045

Wed, 13th May
Gio counted 1 to 10.
Apparently the number that he pronounces something like ‘Nnat,’ and that we could not figure out, is five.

Bed-time, we started looking for his teddy bear.
We could not find it.
Maybe he threw it out of the car.
My wife said she had opened the window at some point and when they were leaving a hardware shop, he was complaining.
We went out at about 9:20 pm to look for it
Went to the hardware shop and asked the watchman. He looked but did not see the teddy bear.
He phoned his colleague, but nothing.

14th May
Scribbling on the floor

20150514_191512

Monday, 18th May
Gio picked his letters of the alphabet
He would come to where we were siting and hold the letter to his chest and say what letter it was.
T, M, I, B, Q, 1
We were to repeat the name of the letter (or digit), then applaud, and not just applaud without first saying the name.

Saturday, 23rd May
Bought Gio new shoes. He refused to put on the old ones.

Sunday, 24th May
I went with Gio to the nearby market
“Water,” he said, referring to a puddle
“Ananana,” he said
I put the banana back where it had been
“Ananana,” he said, giving it to the lady who was selling.
“No, leave that,” I said
He took it again
He can go with that one, she said.

Monday, 25th May
When I was taking Gio to bed, he turned towards the door of our bedroom, which is opposite his room.
We let him sleep in his bed in our room

Tuesday, 26th May
Gio woke up early and whined until I got up and went with him to the living room.
It was 6:00 a.m.

Wednesday, 27th May
I was picking Gio from school. As we approached the car, he pointed at the circular fuel tank cover and said “Circle.”
I told my wife later.
She said he had said that yesterday as well. “Did you know what he was saying?”
I replied that I thought he said circle but I wasn’t sure.

30th May
Machakos People’s Park

20150530_171204

Go on! Say something: