21st to 30th April 2015 – School!

You may want to read this post if you haven’t yet.

Tuesday, 21st April 2015
I took Gio to his first day in school. I can’t remember why my wife did not do it or did not go with us. I jokingly said that she was avoiding crying when we leave him at school.
First Gio and I went to take a picture that was needed by the school upon registration.
The first studio we went to said that their machine needs to warm up. So we went to another studio. They did not seem interested in attending to us. So we went back to the first studio and took picture like these:
(Click on a picture to view nicely. Click X at the top LEFT to exit gallery)

We met the headteacher. She chatted with Gio.
Went to class. There was no drama.
He seemed a bit hesitant at first, but he stayed without any drama.
I read the instructions that I had asked my wife to send by text. Must have been something about feeding.
IMG_9436Gio started playing with the toys in the room.
When leaving, I called “Giovanni.”
He turned and stood
Uh-Oh!
I said ‘Bye.’
He waved back.
The headteacher was relieved.
And that was that.
I sent text saying that Gio was probably hungry and should be given a snack

In the evening, the teacher said he was no trouble.
Caregiver or teacher said “You have a very good boy. A good boy
You should be happy (or you should be thankful).”
“He ate well. He was fed, though,” she said.

Wednesday, 22nd April
My wife took Gio to school this time.
The headteacher said the second day of school is usually the problematic one, because the child has known that ‘This is the place where my parents leave me the whole day.’ Gio did not seem to have such concerns.

He was heading straight to class.
When he reached he went right into the classroom and gave hugs to the teachers and caregiver.
My wife took the opportunity to flee.

Then she called me and asked me to ask the teacher (she did not have the teacher’s phone number) to have Gio put on his jacket and that he should be given water after his break-time snack and after lunch.

In the aternoon, my wife said she wouldn’t make it in time to go pick Gio. Could I take a cab and pick him then take a bus home with him?
Sure.
Any problems today? None.
I went with Gio to an MPesa shop
“Hi Mum,” said one of the attendants
I smiled, then said He’s a boy
“Oh!”
“Many people think he’s a girl.”

In the bus, I took a pack of Amigos from my bag.
Gio was visibly excited. He waited patiently for me to open the bag for him, and then he ate as we went.

We got home and after a while, I took Gio out to play. C (our neighbour) showed up and was delighted to see Telo.
“Telo!” she said and came and gave him a hug.
Moments later, her nanny came and told her to get into the house for a bath.
Up she got and into the house. Gio stood to follow but the door was shut.
I felt a bit sad for him.

 

IMG_9469

23rd April 2015

IMG_9474

3 thoughts on “21st to 30th April 2015 – School!

  1. Pingback: About School | The Giovanni Chronicles

  2. oh wow good to hear your son started school well. Jeremy was ok on the first and second days, but on the third he realized “this is the place where I am left” and cried and yelled and rolled on the floor.. it was so dramatic, we had to go back. It took him about a week to get used to it, he would cry for a few minutes after I left and then be okay the rest of the day.. these days, he leaves me at the entrance and runs to his class as I try to catch up with him. It was such a relief when he got used to it, but still there are some days when he just doesn’t feel like school.

Go on! Say something:

